IMSA Mid-Ohio 2024 main

IMSA Mid-Ohio 2024: MPC, VRSC, and More This Weekend!

The IMSA Mid-Ohio 2024 is set to deliver a spectacular weekend of racing action, featuring the Michelin Pilot Challenge (MPC), the VP Racing SportsCar Challenge (VRSC), and more. Held at the iconic Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, this event promises to be a highlight of the motorsport calendar, attracting fans and competitors from all over the world.

The Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course

Located in Lexington, Ohio, the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course is a 2.4-mile, 15-turn road course known for its challenging layout and picturesque setting. The track’s combination of fast straights, technical corners, and elevation changes make it a favorite among drivers and fans alike. The IMSA Mid-Ohio 2024 will showcase the full range of skills required to master this demanding circuit.

Michelin Pilot Challenge (MPC)

The Michelin Pilot Challenge is one of the premier series of the IMSA Mid-Ohio weekend, featuring a diverse field of GT4 and TCR cars. This series provides a platform for up-and-coming drivers and seasoned veterans to showcase their talents. The Mid-Ohio round is sure to deliver close battles and exciting finishes, making it a must-watch event for motorsport enthusiasts.

VP Racing SportsCar Challenge (VRSC)

The VP Racing SportsCar Challenge adds another layer of excitement to the weekend. This series features high-performance sports cars in a format that emphasizes speed and strategy. The VRSC races at Mid-Ohio will test the drivers’ abilities to navigate the technical course and manage their cars over the race distance.

Mustang Challenge

The Mustang Challenge brings the roar of American muscle to Mid-Ohio. Featuring the iconic Ford Mustang, this series showcases thrilling battles and raw power. Fans of classic American performance cars will be in for a treat as drivers push these machines to their limits.

Mazda MX-5 Cup

The Mazda MX-5 Cup is known for its close racing and highly competitive field. The nimble and agile Mazda MX-5 cars provide a stark contrast to the larger GT and sports cars, delivering exciting wheel-to-wheel action. This series is a favorite among fans for its unpredictable races and skilled drivers.

IMSA Mid-Ohio 2024 main

What to Expect from IMSA Mid-Ohio 2024 in 2024

The IMSA Mid-Ohio 2024 promises a packed schedule of practice sessions, qualifying rounds, and races across multiple series. Fans can look forward to a weekend of high-speed action, technical excellence, and thrilling competition.

Practice and Qualifying Sessions

The weekend kicks off with practice sessions, where teams will fine-tune their setups and drivers will get acquainted with the track. Qualifying sessions will set the stage for the races, with drivers pushing to secure the best possible starting positions.

Race Day

Race day is the highlight of the weekend, with multiple races providing non-stop action. From the closely matched GT4 and TCR cars of the Michelin Pilot Challenge to the high-performance sports cars of the VP Racing SportsCar Challenge, and the thrilling battles in the Mustang Challenge and Mazda MX-5 Cup, there is something for every motorsport fan to enjoy.

Fan Experience

Mid-Ohio offers a fantastic experience for spectators, with excellent viewing areas, a family-friendly atmosphere, and a variety of food and beverage options. Fans can enjoy paddock access, autograph sessions with drivers, and explore the vendor areas for memorabilia and merchandise.

IMSA Mid-Ohio 2024 main

IMSA Mid-Ohio 2024 Schedule

Get ready for an action-packed weekend at the IMSA Mid-Ohio 2024! With a lineup featuring the Michelin Pilot Challenge (MPC), the VP Racing SportsCar Challenge (VRSC), the Mustang Challenge, and the Mazda MX-5 Cup, there’s something for every motorsport enthusiast. Here’s the full schedule for the weekend, with times converted to South African Standard Time (SAST):

Saturday, June 8, 2024

  • Race 1 of 2 – VP Racing SportsCar Challenge: 1:10 PM to 2:00 PM ET (07:10 PM to 08:00 PM SAST)
  • Race 1 of 2 – Mustang Challenge: 2:15 PM to 3:05 PM ET (08:15 PM to 09:05 PM SAST)
  • Race 1 of 2 – Mazda MX-5 Cup: 3:20 PM to 4:10 PM ET (09:20 PM to 10:10 PM SAST)

Sunday, June 9, 2024

  • Race 2 of 2 – Mustang Challenge: 8:25 AM to 9:15 AM ET (02:25 PM to 03:15 PM SAST)
  • Race 2 of 2 – VP Racing SportsCar Challenge: 9:35 AM to 10:25 AM ET (03:35 PM to 04:25 PM SAST)
  • Race 2 of 2 – Mazda MX-5 Cup: 10:40 AM to 11:30 AM ET (04:40 PM to 05:30 PM SAST)
  • O’Reilly Auto Parts Four Hours of Mid-Ohio: 12:35 PM to 4:40 PM ET (06:35 PM to 10:40 PM SAST)

How to Watch IMSA Mid-Ohio 2024 in South Africa

For those unable to attend in person, the IMSA Mid-Ohio 2024 will be broadcast live on major sports networks. In South Africa, DStv Supersport will provide highlights of some of the events, including race broadcasts, practice sessions, and qualifying highlights. However, you will need to see when they are broadcast.

Primarily, the IMSA website and YouTube channel will offer live streams, race replays, and exclusive behind-the-scenes content. We have included a link to the IMSA Mid-Ohio 2024 Four Hour race at the top of this article so you can watch it here too!

IMSA Mid-Ohio 2024 main

Don’t Miss the IMSA Mid-Ohio 2024 Events!

The IMSA Mid-Ohio 2024 is set to be an unforgettable event, combining the thrill of high-speed racing with the beauty of the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. Whether you’re a lifelong motorsport fan or new to the sport, this event is not to be missed. Mark your calendars and get ready for a weekend of roaring engines and spectacular racing at Mid-Ohio!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *